top of page
Writer's pictureJake

8 tips for drone photography

Updated: Aug 14, 2019


Payson, Arizona
Trekking along the Mogollon Rim

I first became interested in drones through architecture. It gave me vantage points that were hitherto unthinkable, not to mention being able to create my own Google maps style 3D models. Architecture is such a rush!


Recently however, I have been incorporating it into my travels, and below I have put together a few of my lessons learned. All the images below were taken with a Phantom 4 drone.


1. Location, Location, Location.

Flying the drone at the park is fun, but will the resulting photos reveal something beautiful? Try getting to a location where the unique vantage point of your drone will reveal something new, something unexpected.

Winter Wonderland


2. Know your drone

These little guys have more settings than a car, but don't get bogged down by the minutia. The most important settings to begin with are the different capture settings and modes. Some of these you will need to adjust on the fly. The Exposure, the EV Compensation, ISO, White Balance, and Focus should all be adjusted depending on how your photos look while you are on site. You can probably go ahead and change the format to raw/jpeg and the Video to 60 fps as that will just make everything better.


Reaching for the Horizon.

3. Plan your flight

This is something that might take a little while to incorporate depending on your level of intensity. The first few times I went out with my drone, I didn't have a plan, I just wanted to fly the little guy around and take photos of things. An idea of what you want to capture before you get to where you are going will help to organize your thoughts and maximize your battery life. Flight modes can help with this. I utilize Active track, Way Points and Terrain Follow mode from time to time.



4. Take many, many photos No seriously, just keep taking photos.... one of them is bound to be good. Right? Try to capture something unique.


Trees encroaching on a dirt road.

5. Carry a spare battery and parts

I sometimes use up an entire battery just setting up the camera and trying to find the right shot. I now take three batteries with me, as well as a compliment of props, just in case my drone gets acquainted with a tree. It's easier to do then you think...


6. Lighting

Depending on the photo you want, make sure to head out at the right time of day. Is it a glorious sunset shot, or a crisp early morning adventure? Is your target facing west? Where will the shadows be? The photo below is lit up from the setting sun.

Rocky Coast

7. Editing

Even the best photos can be improved with some photo editing. I use Photoshop or Lightroom for photos, and Premier or After Effects for videos. I try not to over saturate my photos or give them an unrealistic look, but a little touch up breathes life into what can be a dark photo.


Edited

Original

8. Enjoy

You've done it. I am so proud of you!





 

Semi-pro tip: Dachshunds DO NOT like drones, and will attack on site. I assume this is true of all dogs, but I haven't tested this theory.

 

Having fun with your drone? Let me know!

jake@personaltravelobsessions.com


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page